Contact Us for a Free Consultation 310-701-4383


Halloween Laws In The US: Defense Attorney Tells It All

Posted by Mark A. Velez | Oct 27, 2020 | 0 Comments

Halloween Laws In The US: Defense Attorney Tells It All

Halloween is one of those festivities that bring joy to children and grownups alike. But with the horror it brings, Halloween laws around the world help keep you safe.

It's a holiday that gets fun as it continues to bring the spook. You can be a kid or an adult who wants to hang out with friends and wear costumes at parties to impress your peers, but the crazy side of this ghastly festival can invite some sinister motives hidden before.

According to the LA Police department, the city saw a 26% surge in criminal activities during 2014-2018. Though the data might be a bit rusty, this increase in crime is alarming and bone-chilling for people who send their kids out to have fun. Due to this reason, city councils and lawmakers in the US have created some laws that set clear and sometimes ambiguous expectations for the festive occasion.

Here are some of the US Halloween laws that you may find serious, funny, and even weird enough.

·        No Masks Allowed In Public

If you're someone living in California or Illinois, you either can't wear a mask or need a permit to wear one. Of all the Halloween laws, this one is established to prevent people from hiding themselves and causing trouble in crowded public places.  However, due to Covid-19 and its disastrous effects, masks are now mandatory. So, sticking to this rule might not be a good idea to follow these days.

·        Over 16? No Sunglasses Or Hood

In line with the concern for hiding one's identity, you can't wear sunglasses, hoodies, or any accessory that covers your face. In Dublin, Georgia, USA, this law is particularly applicable if you're over 16 years of age. Again, Halloween laws like these are created to avoid any activities and mischief that could add to the horrifying terror surrounding this event.

So better make sure that you stay attuned to the new laws created for this event, keeping in view the pandemic's situation.

·        No Trick And Treat After 8 In The Night

Trick and treating seem more fun after sunset when you either go out with your friends or distribute candies to the kids with cute costumes. But beware, you can be fined if you go out trick or treating after 8 p.m. Violation of this law could make you end with a fine up to $250.

Unlike other Halloween laws, this law is imposed strictly, and it could be a little tricky to sneak out after 8. However, it's always best to stay on the safe side and watch your clock if you're a Virginia resident.

·        No Trick And Treat On Sundays

Since weekends account for Halloween's high crime incidents, Delaware residents send their children out the night before Halloween falls on Sunday. Among other Halloween laws regulated in Delaware, children are prevented from visiting door to door for trick or treating.

Parents and guardians must prohibit their children from wandering on the streets if there's any trouble lurking around. However, this law doesn't specify any punishment or fine for violation.

·        No Silly Strings From Midnight To Noon

Silly strings are a crazy fun thing you would use at parties, but it gets serious when using it on Halloween. In Hollywood, California, you're not allowed to use silly strings between midnight the noon of Halloween. Think what got this one listed in the Halloween laws? It's merely something crazy with these silly strings that went out of the control of the authorities. Actually, the city cleaners complained about the mess around the city before 2004, which is why the city councils banned silly strings during the 24 hours of Halloween.

But if once you violate this law, you can be fined up to $1000 for it. Better stay safe inside, or else you won't look good paying the fine and cleaning the entire neighborhood filled with silly strings.

·        Passed Grade 8? No Trick And Treating For You

Even though trick or treating is a customary ritual that kids enjoy, but how old shall they be to go out for trick and treat? In Belleville, IL, there's an age limit set for the custom, where kids older than that are prohibited from going door-to-door for candy collection.

To be precise, you have to be younger than 13 years of age or be in a grade lower than 8th. If a teenager violates this law, they could be fined with $50-$1000, depending on the degree of violation.

All in all, Halloween laws can be anything, but they're made usually to protect you and your loved ones. However, if some fun brings mischief on you, hire a qualified defense attorney to make Halloween even fun than before! Happy Halloween!

About the Author

Mark A. Velez

Mark A. Velez My name is Mark Velez and thank you for visiting my site. I would like to take a moment to tell you about who I am and why I opened my own law practice. I was born and raised in Southern California. After completing high school, I applied at the Palos Verdes Estates Police Departme...


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us Today

The Law Office of Mark A. Velez is committed to answering your questions about Criminal Defense law issues in California. We offer a Free Consultation and we'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.